The Summer Exhibition

The Royal Academy stage the Summer Exhibition every year from June until mid-August. I have a friend who is a Friend of the RA and we've been along together for a day out for the past three or four years.

By leaving it until nearly the end of the time, I managed to find the confidence to make the trip. I sat down on the few occasions when there was a bench, but I managed standing around far better than I would have done before my surgery.

Ironically, I was taking a breather and got into conversation with another visitor. She turned out to be a physiotherapist and she was very encouraging.

I loved being there. It was well laid out and very varied this year. I love the variety and creativity. It was hard to choose my blip. I chose the sculpture because it seems to me to show how the artworks are displayed almost casually among the crowd, balancing catalogues, phones and glasses of wine. I'm sorry but I don't remember the name of the artist (and I can't find it in the booklet).

We also went to the excellent Matisse exhibition (right at the very top of the building).

And, of course, we had a delicious lunch nearby before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.