All-red Map

By Edelweiss_Cath

A Level Results Day

#A Level Results Day#
Ok so I try not to be too proud but...I'm really so proud of myself. Since I got that very low C last November in AS Level English Language I have lived in anxiety whenever I thought about it. Browsing the stats from previous years every time I was like “Oh c'mon only 15.7% of the candidates all around the world can get B and above and I will definitely not be one of these lucky dogs. I'm not even a native speaker.” Even yesterday I was revising my letter of appealing together with Adrienne, preparing for what I might need to do if I don't meet the conditions required. And she was giving me pep talks like “You've been working very hard and whatever you get tomorrow you're a good student” and “you could call me tomorrow crying *roflol*”.
And I hesitated so much at 1301 trying to not click “log in”...Alice was like “Darling just go!” When I saw the results page I burst into tears *roflol* it is so darn unbelievable to be one of the 4.6% *roflol* All I prayed for was a B and now they tell me my English Language is the highest amongst all my subjects lol! A high A of 87%!!
I want to say thank you to everyone who has helped, supported and encouraged me as I pursued Linguistics. Thx to the school for allowing me to take this subject that never existed on our elective catalogue; thx to my family-although they believed Linguistics was nothing an EFL should pursue they chose to respect my decision; thx to all English teachers who have given me help and who have never (or seldom...*smirk*) complained when Adrienne and I discussed intensively(loudly) in the office.
AND OF COURSE THANKS Adrienne it's been a great challenge and one of the most difficult journeys I have ever taken throughout my school years. Without her I could not have achieved any of this. Thanks for saying “I'll be glad to help” last April which made everything possible, for taking all those extra burden 8 periods a rotation to handle my one-on-one class, for revising those hell amounts of papers with me, for crying for and laughing with me. Learning a 2-year course in 10 months is challenging for me and at the same time teaching a 2-year course in 10 months is nothing easy. Thanks for never being disappointed despite the fact that I always confuse everything, never giving up on this "mission impossible". You are the awesomest English teacher I've ever met. *heart*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.