Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Bull kelp

I camped the night at a lovely place called Tatukua Bay in the heart of the Catlins coast. As night set in the temperature dropped and the wind blew stronger than ever. Cold rain fell on the rooftop and I could see my breath in the air. Later the clouds cleared, and I went out on the beach to gaze at the stars. Clear, unpolluted and far from cities and lights the stargazing down here is phenomenal. It feels like being in a planetarium, or perhaps I should say here it is still as it has always been until very recently. The original planetarium, Earth, a window into the cosmos every starry night.

I dreamed of comets and constellations to the sound of the waves and woke up refreshed. Bright and sunny I rambled home stopping at a place called Papatowai. Here, a huge beach swings out to tall green headlands jutting into the sea. I hiked through a cool, sun-dappled tree fern forest to the beach and then I ran. I ran barefoot through the surf, wind in my hair and the sun on my face for miles down a deserted beach. Chased by the surf line I saw no-one else for miles. When the land eventually ran out I stopped and panted on the sands. There are geometric patterns, colors and designs etched in the sands from the winds. And there are curious things to be found on the beach. Strange rocks and pieces of driftwood, washed up bull kelp, and the iridescent shells of abalone, or pau as it's called here.

I ran back and felt so good, so complete. Me and a huge feral beach all to myself. Happy as a dog put out in a field on a summery day. And then I made the journey home stopping for passing sheep, bartering for petrol with locals, and eating fish and chips at a picnic table before heading inland. As I was leaving one of the old timer's in Papatowai told me big weather from the Antarctic was moving in. From sunny and clear to gale force winds, rain and hail. Spring time weather, or "lambing season" weather as he called it.

Moody and ever changing, the Catlins were food for my own moody soul and ever changing life. A reminder to live in the moment whatever it may be, for you never know how the weather might change. Spring time, but summer is on the way...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.