The wind in my wilows

What a blast of a day on the higher Pentland peaks - Turnstone, Carnethy, Scald Law. You could have taken off and flown to the Bass Rock. I was almost pleased to have the weight of the DSLR in my rucksack to hold me down.

I'm gradually working out how to use the walking poles (sticks). They are a boon going up steep hills for the decrepit like me. I can do little Scott of the Antarctic steps and not feel a fool. And for the moorland springy bits they spur me on like .. like the promise of shelter from the implacable gale.

Another longish stomp back to make up the circle at Flotterstone. Much amused as my legs gave out to see so many fishermen's flies caught up on the telephone wire that runs along Loganlea Loch. With a bit of luck and planning I'll be adding some of my own.

More people out today. As I prepared to peg myself to terra firma I was surprised to see people strolling up Carnethy with little but a shirt and shorts. Either they'd come up on the lee side from the A720 or they were bloody hard. Even the runners were having to take some account of the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.