Lakeland Dipper 55

Hard Tarn
... and it was bloomin' hard too. 

The world and his wife, family, distant relatives and all and sundry were out and about, bikers, cyclists, canoeists, runners, walkers ...Glendridding heaved. Once I left Ruthwaite Lodge I was on rough fell and didn't see a soul. A buzzard circled overhead with its cries echoing around Ruthwaite Cove.

A few days ago I got a blip message saying I was approaching 1095. My capacity for maths is zero and so as I headed out today wondering what the significance of 1095 was ... I headed down Ullswater and finally managed to work out it was 3 years! Well I never....

As I headed up for a dip today I knew it was likely to be a bit of challenge (just under the highest crags on the right hand side of the extra). It was a slog, one of those where it keeps going and gets steadily steeper and rougher. About half way I had started to form my concession speech but I persuaded myself I was unlikely to do it again so I kept going. Even when I was within feet there was no indication of it. It is held back by a lip of rock that makes it a lakeland infinity pool. It wasn't as big as I'd expected and hardly looked worth getting into (or so I was persuading myself). It didn't seem worth putting my wetsuit on and there was no-one about so I was intending to just dip and run but when I tested it I very promptly got my wetsuit on! It was freezing and I thought I'd be straight back out again as my hands and feet parted company with the rest of me but before long I was having a good old swim around. 

Love Live Blip I say ... and thank you all for being part of this wonderful little infinity pool (and a warmer spot to be in than Hard Tarn!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.