Looking South

By 13south

Here comes the candle to light you to bed

I have blipped this before, but it's my most favourite Christchurch  Priory museum exhibit, and I have been making enquiries about it.  It's situated on the stairway looking out towards Hengistbury Head.  The story is that it was lit to tell the smugglers that there were no Revenue men in the area and they could safely unload their cargo.  Cynics, of course, dismiss the idea and say the candle flame couldn't be seen from that far away.  But I like the story.  Anyway, if not that, where did the candlestick come from?  It's very old.

Later - I think the glass behind the candlestick is bottle glass. That's found nowhere else in the Priory to my knowledge. Is that significant? Any glass experts out there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.