Dancing with my friends

Miss42 to the rescue to a blipless daddy42.

A busy productive day at work today and after a dinner and a dance (see above!) it was bath/bedtime for Miss42.

In the bath, she announced: "I might die" ... "and I might hurt myself as well*"

This all came from a minor running out into the road incident earlier in the day and Mrs42 had some stern words with her.

I just liked that hurting yourself is a fate worse than death.

When I assured her that she wasn't going to die, as long as she didn't run out into the road, she looked at me seriously and followed up with: "No, I not die. I said 'Mummy, watch out, cars coming'. But some people do die daddy. Mary** died."

Yes she did, little one, yes she did. Although she was very old.

I thought I might have a few more years before I had to start having conversations with my daughter about death. Although she's got a healthier attitude towards it than most!



* pronounced 'weil' with a good Scottish accent

** name changed, but the mum of a friend passed away recently. We're thinking about you L.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.