LBJ

Bit of a disaster on the photography front today: my 70-300mm lens bit the dust. I know exactly what the problem is, as it's the third of these my camera has destroyed; the torque of the autofocus motor strips the gears. The symptoms are that it gives a hideous grinding noise on startup and shutdown (and sometimes when hunting for focus) and manual focus is virtually locked solid.

I'm hoping I can get this one replaced under warranty when we get home, but as it was still marginally usable today I thought I'd better take at least one or two of the wildlife shots I often use it for here. This bird is what my father-in-law would have described as an LBJ - a "little brown job" - and I have no idea what species he actually is, but he and his mates were perching on the chair backs at lunch, keenly watching for any dropped bread or other tidbits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.