THE SWAN FAMILY

First thing in the morning I went to search for the swan family in Madesteyn park. I found them in the big pond, they all were busy preening.
I stood there in awe. Parents and 7 cygnets, there were geese too, eating grass as much as they wanted.
After a while the swans began to move, first to the middle of the pond, then in a neat row towards the bridge. I followed them, seeing the subtle movements, and the listening to each other. When they had emerged at the other side of the bridge, they suddenly stopped, and I heard the soft humming of them all.
It was a sign obviously, and they returned from where they had come.
I kept following them and took pictures all along.
At the end I have kept 3 photos which I loved most.
It had been ages since I have seen swan families here in Loosduinen.
Back then when swans saw someone interested in them, they usely came fastly swimming towards that persons. This family did not such a thing. They had such a regal pose, but keen on any danger that could come near them.
It was a warm and lovely summer day and Piet Hein and I cycled to the beach and walked along the shore, sat in the sand, a short swim, and back home.
Mischa came after work, and we had a meal together. Linguine pasta with paksoy and tofu.

I will give silly hearts tonight to tedwin, Naturelover, Nettenet, cassnett and deanna_pearce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.