A doggy day!

After collecting Poppy and Mia L and I headed for Pollok Park. Before we started our walk a caffeine boost was on the cards so I waited in the cafe garden with the dogs while L bought the carry outs.

P & M don't make a sound but a another spaniel nearby started barking. I moved P & M further away and tied them to a chair leg while I went to talk to the other dog and her pal ... Tiga, brown and white and Abbey, shades of tan.

The owner suddenly says 'Don't I know you?' ..... no recognition on my part but when the next question was 'Did you teach at Hutchie' I thought this has to be a parent. When she named her son I remembered J so well ..... two specifics ..... one, in P5 he couldn't tell the time because the only time pieces he ever saw were digital .... I suggested he be given a 'real' watch for his Christmas (mum remembers that!) and even more memorable was the day of the P5 Hutchie Mile.

J was not keen on anything to do with PE and there was NO way he was going run round the track so I chased him .... I must have been crazy! I certainly couldn't run that distance now! I've just looked back in the old school photos .... 2004 was the memorable year. J now lives and works in New Zealand.

It's always good to hear news of former pupils ..... sometimes in the most unexpected of times and places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.