Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Jaw-Dropping!

Maybe it was just too hot for her.  She wasn't squawking, she was just moving around the hummingbird feeder with her beak hanging open.  It was hot, over 100°/38°, but they have survived hotter.  There was plenty of refreshment out for her: water, nectar, oranges.  Ahhh...that sounds good even to me!

I'm not sure if I've ever shared any information about these interesting birds.  This is a female Hooded oriole.  The male looks completely different, much more like what you'd expect an oriole to look like (orange).  They generally arrive in southern Arizona in May and leave for Mexico in October.  I was surprised to see a few females hanging around all through last winter. Here's more information about these orioles, including their sounds. I feel very fortunate to routinely see so many birds not available for those who live outside the extreme SW United States.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.