No longer lurking

I didn't mean to go missing for so long but circumstances conspired against me each time I thought I could really get back to being here actively.

So after major changes at work (scary)
A revamp of my medication (probably not working)
A repair to my broadband (total failure)
I was planning to come back tomorrow to coincide with a stupid challenge I agreed to on a Facebook group.

But that would be procrastinating so I metaphorically slapped myself and decided to get back tonight.

There's one story it's hard to get away from today (apologies to the rest of the world with floods etc) but here I give you what is I believe still the only statue of Diana, Princess of Wales in the UK.
As can be seen from this link Birmingham Mail this is not a much loved tribute and when I took this picture at 18:30 there was not one floral tribute.
But 1997 was not a good year for me - a messy costly divorce being part of it.  However in June 1997 I met Gwyn and we have been friends since.  On Saturday 30 August 1997 we went to a late showing of the Full Monty.  When I came home I took down some photos from the living room wall.  One of those was of us at a Royal Garden Party. Diana was there and it's true she did have an infectious laugh.
When I got up to the news the next morning and heard the news the synchronicity struck me and still does.

So yes I do remember what I was doing that day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.