Don't tell me not to chat.....

Well, it had been a long week and I am very glad it is Friday. Paula decided it was Fat Friday and so she brought in a few bags of sweets....but I am pleased to say that I resisted everything today. I have decided that today would be the start of Stoptember for me....I have to be good as I can feel my uniform shrinking!

It was a mixed bag of people today...colleagues who drove me up the wall and donors who made me laugh. We were told in our briefing this morning that we should only be spending two minutes in a health screening and we shouldn't chat....well sometimes I will chat because sometimes some people need a little reassurance, or little bit more of my time, or they have done or been somewhere really interesting and so I say phooey to your two minute rule!

I have had lots of 'little chats' today.....

...with the lovely lady from Lithuania who had one green eye and one blue eye.
...with Julie who needs a little bit of extra help and has a terrible stammer but was thrilled with the sticker I gave her as it was her 70th donation.
...with the lady who had shocking pink streaks in her hair and I always comment on it then realise it is her.
...with the first time donor who has just done an 8 week training course so she can take part in a charity boxing match and realised she wanted to do more good things so she's become a blood donor.
...with the lady who laughed out loud when I gave her a sticker that said "Look at My Pert Bum" after she squeezed her buttocks to help her donation.
...with Jane who has had a few failed donations as she has tricky veins, but I worked my magic fingers and we got a full donation this time. She left with a huge grin on her face and I did a fist pump lol.

...so don't tell me not to chat!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.