Standing Watch

Orton Scar can be a lonely windswept place on a cold and wet autumnal day - the long flat stretch of moorland merging indistinctly into the long flat stretch of sky, the horizon seemingly lost. I've kinda grown to love it, to cherish it and to hold it dear. 

Walking pooch today in what was horrible and yet, as forecast, the best part of the day, I was initially intrigued to see this familiar vista had changed. Silent Sentinels have appeared, standing solitary and in solidarity they both add and detract from their surrounds.
Head down against wind and rain I'm sure I missed a fair few, but I counted at least sixty. They're not big, but then they don't need to be, this is an easy place to stand tall. They seem more than could be childish endeavour, yet oddly lacking in sense, but then I've been absent from my haunt for too long so how to tell.
I'm verging towards disappointed, but I think their effort at least deserves a second look, perhaps on a brighter day. Who knows maybe a purpose will emerge, or perhaps they simply are. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.