Jado

By Jado

Bread

When I visited Hardwick Hall just over a week ago I also visited Stainsby Mill.  Stainsby Mill is a 1850s water powered corn mill.  I've driven passed the mill many times, but there is very limited parking and this was the first time that I found somewhere to pull in.

I bought some flour at the mill - flour milled at the mill itself - and they give you a complimentary recipe booklet too :-)  So today, for the first time ever, I made a loaf of bread.  It was a pretty messy job - how do you stop dough sticking to absolutely everything in the kitchen?  But never mind - the smell as it was cooking was amazing and the bread is delicious :-)

Next project is to make a date, apple and walnut loaf, as per one of the other recipes in the booklet.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.