Bom

By Bom

Drunken Lamppost

I need to replace my 8 year old tv as it's beginning to have problems - simple eh? Well, my current tv is only 32 inches and I want a 4K tv. Now modern tvs are soooo much bigger and the only place I can put it is where the fireplace is now - either by bricking up the chimney or putting it on the wall above an Opti-myst fire as I would only use the vapour flame effect and not the heat (which I don't use or need). So this morning I popped out to look at fires at a local showroom. I've also been doing my calculations re what height a wall mounted tv should be to avoid neck ache and to check it would all fit. This involved trying to remember how to work out a side of a right angled triangle if you know one side and one angle (in this case the 10 degree viewing angle). Thank goodness for the internet to remind me and to tell me the value of tan 10! I also need to work out the right size tv for my room - needless to say for 4K tvs the advice changes from 40 to 67 inches - I'd say 43 or 49. I knew that maths degree would come in handy one day if only to understand what the websites were telling me!!!

On the way back I popped into a crafts centre and took a quick snap on my compact of this delightful 'drunken' lamppost. 

I also had a visit from B&Q to quote me for the supply and fitting of a new bathroom - I let her have a free hand to suggest ideas once I'd said what I needed in terms of both bath and shower, some storage and a traditional & functional style rather than fancy. It will be interesting to see what she comes up with and if I faint when I see the price! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.