Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Back Blip - Fairbanks

At Copper Centre I had been negligent with the mosquito spray, and something the size of a budgie had bitten me. By Fairbanks the egg sized bite had started to spread down my face and I woke up like Frankenstein. 

Improbably, there was a pharmacy next door to the hotel; the pharmacist took one look at me and told me to go to see a doctor. Even more improbably there was an emergency clinic next door, and armed with my credit card I went along. The doctor checked for infection and sent me away with drugs that did not allow alcohol consumption - this is not a good state of affairs in Fairbanks...

We went to the very amusing Ice Museum, took a boat trip and finished the day at an all you can eat Salmon bake. All in the rain. It's a good job that veggie Sarah eats fish or she would've starved to death by now in Alaska. 

I am not sure Fairbanks showed herself to us in her best light. It's a place to say you've been really, rather than a place to actually be in the rain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.