Demo day at the zoo

No, not demolition, demonstration. This is when the local camera shop comes to the zoo and allows the visitors to take their fancy equipment for a test drive. So I got in line to borrow a professional 100 mm macro lens for my Canon EOS Rebel T1i, and was also given the brand new EOS Rebel SL2 body to try out with the lens!
Obviously good equipment delivers good photos.  The bee photo above is with the borrowed camera body and lens. But which one is making the biggest difference, the body or the lens? 
So in the extras, the snap of the giraffe mouth was taken with my old body and the new macro lens. Then the photo of the two giraffes cheek to cheek was taken with the SL2 body and my old 18-55 mm lens. And lastly, the portrait of the lion was taken with my old body and a borrowed new fangled 70-300 mm DO lens.
As always, I think it comes down to the quality of the glass in the lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.