'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

...and breathe...

...its the weekend.

This has been a tough week. With my administrator from one school being off sick all week, one of my teachers being signed off with high bp (her house was flooded on Sunday and as she is in the later stages of pregnancy, it was bound to impact on her bp) and myself battling with tonsillitis it has been one of those weeks. Last year this would have been a bit difficult but this year with 2 schools it has been a real challenge!

I have also come to realise that the idealistic view of being able to spend 1/2 a day in each school every day hasn't been as practical or as productive as I was hoping, and I feel it has been more unsettling for all than if I did every other day at each school.

It is interesting to watch how the different staff, parents and pupil have reacted to change across both schools, some reactions I was expecting and can understand and others I wasn't. This hasn't all been negative I must add but definitely interesting.

I have also found it very lonely at times this week especially when trying to ensure that pressures are not passed on to others. Enabling them to focus on their teaching and the learning of the children in their care, whilst taking on extra responsibilities. My role has completely and utterly changed and I miss the 'comfort' of my .5 teaching commitment. However, I am hoping that with reviewing how I divide my time between both schools, I will be able to get into classrooms much more working with both the children and the teachers.

Sorry for waffling on, I obviously needed to off load a bit!

Three beautiful things:
Bumping into past pupils and seeing how well they have settled into y7.

A walk on the beach this evening.

Sunset

One thing to be grateful for:

The weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.