I went to the park this evening, hoping to see a nice sunset.  What I had was one of the most memorable 10 minutes in a long time.  This guy (George is his name) was out in the water with his dog, Delta, talking to her, petting her in the water and just giving her a nice massage.  He noticed me taking photos, so when they came out of the water I told him how much his dog seemed to enjoy the water.  George started to cry.  He said it was her last swim.  Delta has some illness and he has to put her down on Monday.  He's been her Dad for 13 1/2 years and his heart is breaking.  When I showed him the photos on my camera, he started to cry again and said how nice they were. 
 "Can I print these and get them to you somehow?," I asked.....and he said he had email and could I email them to him.  He went to his truck and wrote his information on a little card and handed it to me.  Now my heart was aching for this lovely man and his dog, sharing their last swim together.  I went to shoot the sunset and in it's place I was privileged to shoot a memory for George, and I didn't even know it.
So, dear blippers, never underestimate the power of a photo.  How lucky was I to be at this spot at this moment in time for George and his dog?
Extra photo is when they were walking out of the water for the last time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.