Day 261/17. Internet prolongs the life of books...

In a somewhat weird twist I realised today how much the internet is prolonging the life of printed books.....
I was recommended this book last week, the cost on the fly cover is £16.00, and that was in 1982 when it was reprinted from a 1978 first print.
In today's 2017 terms, that would be (I reckon) over £50.00. But how to get hold of one very old book?
As soon as I was recommended this, I set off on an ebay hunt on my phone..... (other internet auction sites are available).  Within minutes I had tracked this one down, I saw the 'Buy It Now' price and clicked yes. 6 days later (today) it arrived. Perfectly packaged and in very reasonable condition.
So, I now have the 30+ year old book I was after, long out of print, and being re-cycled by me with my photographic hobby.
The cost? The grand sum of £2.80 including postage (amazingly)...... By my calculation that is delivered for less than 1/15 of its orginal cost......
Those pesky internets are indeed powerful tools for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.