Major Achievements

My Dear Princess & Fat Pete,

Today I bought a "Who Ate All The Pies" pie.

It was at Moore Wilson's which - I had been reliably informed - was the "posh" grocery store. Our landlady Miranda shops there, Feefs told me.

I went there today on another exploration of downtown Wellington. It was so exclusive I couldn't even find the entrance and circled the entire block before I found it. Inside it was like if Valvona & Crolla ran a supermarket. They even have a "fromagerie" inside, with huge wheels of cheese.

Princess, I expect you could even find a block of quince bigger than the one in your fridge.

I am finding the fact that all the stores are different very exciting. I guess I have been brought up in a country where all high streets are the same. And while there are chains here, there seem to be a lot of eccentric little shops too. It makes strolling around much more interesting. And then there's the restaurants and cafes. I wandered through one open-warehouse-looking foodcourt in the city centre, full of little food stalls. The smells were amazing, and the warehouse was full of happy people and birds flying about.

It seemed like a great place to eat, laugh, and probably get sh*t on. Maybe I'll take Er Indoors there one day. I'll be sure to wear a hat.

I still find downtown Wellington somewhat confusing though, but bear in mind that I am someone who could get lost in a 2 bedroom flat. At one point I went into NOOD (a furniture store) and walked out again feeling like, "WHOAH! I don't recognise ANYTHING! I must have walked into THE TWILIGHT ZONE!"

And then realised I'd walked out of a different entrance than the one I came in. I retraced my steps and calmed myself down.

But there is one rule of Wellington. Head downhill and to the water and you're on familiar territory. After walking as far as Courtenay Place to the cinema, I headed back. And because it was a nice day I found myself at the water's edge.

There were couples posing in the heart-shape in the centre of the "WOW" sculpture pictured above. But I was on my own and it would have been a bit sad. So this picture is all you get.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.