Why do we keep them?

When I was a child I loved playing with the buttons - every mum and aunt had a button tin and buttons were removed from old clothes before they were discarded. The idea was to reuse them, of course. During the war and just after everything was saved to be reused - brown paper, string, large garments with material that could make smaller garments - I remember a lovely coat that my Mum made when I was about 5 - it was black, because it was made from a gents black overcoat but it had tartan collar, cuffs and covered buttons (I still have one of the buttons).
But nowadays, who uses buttons from their button tins? I often want to, but can't find the right size, colour or quantity I need so end up buying new - and always buy a couple more than I need in case I lose one - thus adding to the button tin!
As you may have guessed - it's nearly midnight and I hadn't taken any photos today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.