Transitoire

By Transitoire

Le soleil et une gueule de bois

Picture taken so I could spend the rest of the day recovering, apologies. Went into Caen with the girls to go to an ERASMUS get-together - although we are not at the University Becky is a friend of the people on the ERASMUS committee organisation thing so out we went.
Sampled a "traditional" Normandy drink, which I think is called something like embuscade. Details also slightly hazy on the ingredients, but I think it is wine, beer and Calvados...the French version of an English drink called 'Eliminator'. Similar connotations in the name as well, I wish I could remember it properly! Anyway, spent the night talking a mixture of French and English to some very nice people...Belgians, French, Germans, Spanish, Chinese, Cuban and Finnish (I think those were all the nationalities!). I got told that I had a very British accent when I spoke French, but that is was "cute" - don't know whether that is a good thing or a bad thing to be honest!

Ended up with Camille giving us a lift home - Kendra's flat is very hard to find once you realise the road you usually walk up is one way, and it is also dark! I think people seem to have the wrong impression of the French, apart from the odd person (usually in administration) everyone is so kind and really patient with us new people, and they literally do go out of their way to help.

Now to recover and watch Doctor Who.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.