cherish what remains

By clothgirl

packing for a party

We are going to Minneapolis for a few days. I am in the process of packing my suitcase, which I always find exciting. It isn't a straight-forward packing job either because we are attending a fundraising gala on Wednesday evening and there's a luncheon on the same day, so my outfit has to go from day to evening, as they say in the fashion magazines. I decided to wear a silk suit by day, remove the jacket and add a hand dyed scarf (not one of mine but a silk one from my collection) and beaded handbag for night. I am sure the room will be full of sparkly dresses, and for a moment I felt anxious about not conforming to trend. Then I realized I'm not a sparkly dress sort of person and, before I'd had that thought, I'd been thrilled to be able to wear my Linda Wrigglesworth suit for the first time in ages, so I got over myself. Besides, my evening purse sparkles just enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.