Kurtstat

By kurtstat

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

I'd finished teaching an SPC course at the Robert Jones Agnes Hunt Hospital in Oswestry at 4pm and was conscious that if I drove straight up the A483 and the M56 I'd reach the M6 at exactly the wrong time. So I stopped off at the Ty Mawr Country Park and went for a walk along the River Dee to the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct. Walking across it is a slightly unnerving experience. There's a railing on one side, which is grand, but on the other side is just the canal and there's no railing beyond the canal, just a sheer drop, so you do feel a bit exposed, and you have to pay attention when you make way for people walking in the opposite direction. Quite exhilarating, really, though, and a nice change from the sedate-ness of canal boats and greenery that characterized the rest of the walk.

Postscript. After my walk, I got to the M6 at Lymm at about 7pm. Friday night traffic was a total bloody nightmare. It took two hours just to get to Junction 32. Didn't get home until midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.