Metaphotography

This is Paul Hobson with a few of his images. He's an amazing wildlife photographer and he has just published a wonderful book called Wild Derbyshire (you can also see more of his brilliant images if you follow the link). I got an email yesterday as I am on Paul's mailing list, saying he was having a small exhibition in the Winter Gardens here in Sheffield to publicise his book, so after my photography class, I went down to have a look. I chatted to Paul for a while, and prised one or two good tips from him whilst admiring his book and the photos on display, so this shameless plug is in part payment for those. He lives quite close to me so we also shared a few local wildlife hotspots. One of my classmates from my photography class had bought a copy from on of the the Peak District Visitors' Centres where he volunteers, and was full of praise for it. If like me you are an aspiring wildlife photographer, or just love wildlife, you should get someone to buy it for you. Or treat yourself. Or buy it for a loved one.

Meanwhile, at the class, as I suspected, the photomontage is a laborious process. Lots of cutting and sticking. But I'm optimistic the finished product will be quite interesting. Watch this space ;-)

The title for this Blip may or may not make sense to you. It refers to the fact that this is a photo of photographs and a photographer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.