National Day of Remembrance

Red dresses were hanging in various locations around the island in remembrance of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls in Canada.  These were among the dresses hanging in the park downtown.  I struggle to find words to express my feelings about the treatment of Indigenous people historically and today.  I weep for all who have suffered the loss of family and friends.  My life and the lives of my family members have been enriched by the many friends we've made through teaching and working in Indigenous education.  Will we ever move beyond intolerance and racism?  I can only hope so....
Remembrance

We spent the day with old friends and their daughter and son-in-law.  We've known C, the daughter, since she was 2 years old.   She teaches in an international school in Germany now, after teaching in Japan, China and Serbia.  She met her husband in Japan and he currently works as a designer for Opel cars.  We shared a delicious meal and enjoyed lively conversation, and it was special to see them both again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.