Ikimasho!

By Hayls

Sax, no clarinet, no sax, oh I don't know!

Eldest starts his clarinet lessons on Thursday. Cue mad rush to find a clarinet to hire. Found one, but, as the incredibly helpful, incredibly well-spoken and incredibly sarcastic sales assistant observed, "I could sell you anything and you wouldn't have a clue."

You may think she overstepped the banter mark, however, on entering the shop with eldest and youngest:

Youngest points at a saxophone: Mum, is that a clarinet?
I nod sagely: Yes dear, it is.
Silence falls in the shop. Heads turn towards the clueless woman standing at the counter. Realisation dawns. Cheeks flush. I mutter: Son, I thought you'd be playing an entirely different instrument to the one you are.


Stifled sniggers ensue.

The shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.