Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Rodeo

I am a few days behind in posting.  I found out the deadline for photo submissions for an annual magazine is in just a few days and I still have to get to some southern towns to shoot.  My other excuse is related to this rodeo.

I went on a trip with a group from the Singles club to the White Stallion Ranch for the small rodeo and dinner.  It was an incredible place.  It's actually a Dude Ranch where people who want an authentic western  experience can vacation.  I only got a few decent shots during the rodeo because I wasn't very far up the bleachers.

That's where the rest of the story comes in...and why my new journal name is soooo appropriate.

The bleachers must have been made in the 1800's.  Okay, that's a little hyperbolic but put the picture of the rickety-ness in your mind.  I guess in the 1800's (again, a bit of hyperbole) they didn't believe in putting railings on bleachers.  I bet you know what's coming...

Yes, as I was coming down from my extremely high  perch on the third row  my ankle turned, I fell off of those rickety wooden slats and twisted my knee.  At least I fell on my butt and not on face. 
It's been a couple of days and I'm still applying ice to both joints.   I'm hoping when folks see me hobbling around town with my arm in a sling and walking with a cane they will think I was in some horrible accident, rather than just a klutz. 

Nevertheless, it was my first ever shot of a horse, cowgirl, rope and steer in a photo together so in the end I'm still pretty happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.