Wedding

So that's one daughter married! :-)

As any parent will know, the lead up to a marriage is manic and largely out of your control. Nevertheless, Cheryl and Gareth had determined to put this marriage together by themselves and on their terms. It was marvellous.

Tortworth Court is a large stately pile in South Gloucestershire converted into a hotel and recently refurbished by De Vere. It's huge and imposing and full of interesting aspects. The marriage took place in the Orangery, which as you can see was full of light on a sunny day.

I finished my father of the bride speech at around two o'clock that morning (see yesterday's blip) and despite that it went down very well. I can now reveal that was a matter of some anxiety to me in the buildup - I've no problem with public speaking, but this was my daughter's day!

There may have been a degree of drinking and dancing long into the night, and some might note that a relatively recent kidney transplantee is still able to pogo on the dance floor (have you noticed punk and the styles of austerity revolt are coming back into fashion?). I freely admit though that the cigar was a terrible mistake - I can still taste the bloody thing.

Photo's as ever, on Flickr later. But later will be later as I have an increasing backlog of RAWs to process. And no time in the new future. Thanks ever so much for all your kind comments recently, and your hearts and stars, especially for my kilo blip. 

Mark

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.