Just a parrot's life

By ellenparrots

Update on Tommy

Also see: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2358036792206168032

Update Tommy: Astrid from Villa Filou who build Tommy's stainless steel cage will make a special grate for the cage, but.. I have to wait for a while because she is way too busy at the moment. Again.... Tommy is holding is poop way too long.. If he squeezes out a very big poop on the playtree it isn't "just" a morning bomb, no... he just doesn't poop in his cage for quite a while now. 

It sure is a behavioural thing, but we (dr. Yvonne and I) still cannot find out the exact reason why he suddenly doesn't poop anymore in his cage and no... I am not going to order a new cage lol because he has one of the best cages he could ever wish. Strange also is dat he is sooooo relaxed in the cage. He has it for one year now and the poop problem is only since about 2 months or so.. In his other cages he mostly had a grate and in this cage he hasn't so I am going to try and see if putting back a grate this helps. Maybe he just hates walking on the bottom with his "footers" in his own poop. Who knows. But.. today something happened that it made me descide to find a temporary solution as soon as possible. He came out of his cage at about 11:30 AM and he did a small poop in his cage, yeah! but... putting him on the playtree he did a poop... my my... who can ever imagine that a grey parrot can poop like that. It was just horrific. I will attach a photo under this message.. but it was all over the bottom of the playtree, looked awful and?? there we go again... it smelled terrible. NOT GOOD. He just finished his antibiotics against the infection because of the fact that he holds his poop too long. 
I ordered at BirdSupply.nl two grates which I will attach in the cage with tie rips. My friend Loes will help me. I have to do something....Hopefully I will have my order tomorrow...
Keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.