Escape From Sector 7-G

By craigL

AGO a go-go

September 27th - Temp 27-28

Our last full day in Canada. We start the day with a trip up the CN Tower, which I suppose is the classic tourist thing to do in Toronto, see extra.

Then we head up to the Art Gallery of Ontario. An exhibition displaying the memorabilia collection of film director Guillermo Del Toro starts at the weekend. We will miss the exhibition as we fly home before it opens, but Del Toro is at AGO doing a book signing and I want to see what the queue is like. It's horrendous. Del Toro is signing at 4pm and fans have been queuing since 9am. Anyway, I buy the exhibit book, we look round the standard gallery and head off. 
At about 4pm my wife goes for a sleep and I head back to AGO to see how fast the book signing queue moves. It's a lost cause, I estimate it will take four hours to get anywhere near the door, however, I make some friends in the queue and we have a good chat. I'm just about to sack the queue and go back to the hotel, when one of my new acquaintances, an AGO member, returns from the gallery with VIP member tickets for the Del Toro exhibition which is open early for members only. She realises that the tickets are not open ended and have to be used that day within half an hour. She gives one ticket to me, and another to another person in the queue. 
Happy days! I don't get my book signed, but thanks to the kindness of strangers, I get into the exhibit, which is superb and includes Guillermo Del Toros extensive collection of Frankenstein memorabilia pictured.
Thank you Canada!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.