Jack James

By JackJames

I love my garden

I woke up at 5:30 this morning, and couldn't get back to sleep. When I say woke up, I mean properly woke up - I was alert in the head, early in the morning for what must be a very long time.

I was thinking about a stroll along the front, but the sun doesn't rise until 7:30 or so. I settled on a cup of tea and watching my favourite Spanish TV series.

I felt distracted at uni all day, itching to go outside in the sun. After uni, at home for lunch, Fred came over and left his bike - so I borrowed it and went off on a little adventure while he went and surfed at Somo.

It's amazing how happy bikes make me - the freedom to explore huge swathes of land with such minimal effort and the wind in your hair puts it far above walking or cars in my books. So, I took the road to the Faro, then turned left and explored uncharted territory.

As soon as I'd taken a turn of the main road, Santander transformed itself into the rural Spain that I know from my summer working on farms around Alcoi and Valencia - horses and donkeys tied up against rickety shacks, children jumping up and down on a pile of freshly sheared wool - it was the sort of scene that you might have expected reading Don Quijote, and a happy mile from the hustle of the city.

Continuing up and down winding lanes though a labyrinth of streets, I found myself at the sea. This was no mean feat - navigating without a map proved fairly difficult, as what looked like a main road often fizzled into a dirt track, and what appeared to be a farm lane turned into the main road.

But when I finally found the sea, it was incredible. The geology here is limestone, for the most part - and so chemical erosion twists it into fantastic shapes - sharp points and pinnacles, smooth bowls, flat pavements - all while the sea pounds the cost, opening up fractures and carving caves deep into the side of the cliffs.

I trundled along the coast, stopping every now and then to look at the rocks - at one point I found myself confronted by one of these faults, that had come back into the rock about 40m from the sea, and was about 12m deep. There was a small bridge of soil and rock that traversed it, which I took without too much though as to what my fate would be with a foot in the wrong place.

All the way along the coast, fishermen were perched in the most crazy places - one man was casting off from a huge shear cliff, feet over the edge, and I once peered over a cliff edge to see a man standing on a sheer cliff, supported by a platform of rock about 1m wide. No idea how he got there.

I was travelling light, so no photos, but I'll be returning for sure.

Evening at Cora's place (very nice flat house indeed) before crepes back at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.