Return to the North

By Viking

There were never such devoted sisters

I was up at the ass crack of dawn today to get to a job interview. The school is a sister school to one I’m at and I guess that fact unconsciously determined where I thought it was in relation to geography! So when my sat nav (phone maps) told me to head south from the M18 onto the M1 I subconsciously ignored it and went north! I even ignored it when it told me to do a U-turn at the roundabout back in to M1. I eventually decided to listen to it screeching at me that I was going the wrong way! So I pulled into a lay-by and checked. Sure enough I was going the wrong way!!!! So instead Boeing around 35 minutes early I was going to be cutting it fine. Cue an accident that had caused a traffic jam!!!!
So all in all I was lucky to be only a couple of minutes late for my interview. It might as well have been an hour as I arrived rather stressed. I then had to teach a 30 minute lesson, which I massively underestimated and which in reality lasted about 20 mins. Not great!!
On the positive side I was very aware of what had done wrong etc and what I could do to improve it- something I made sure I highlighted in my interview!
Was very surprised therefore to be offered the job :-)) The only slight downer is that what was advertised as a permanent post was offered to me as temporary until the summer - I understand why (haven’t taught psych in the UK for 11 years) but would have been nice to have the certainty of permanence. Still I now have work until the end of this academic year.
And the photo?.... sis has had to start wearing glasses , making us look even more alike :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.