Alesund

Alesund wasn’t on our original itinerary. It’s a beautiful fishing port, with amazing Art Nouveau buildings and friendly people. I was quite happy when our plans were changed for safety reasons.

We were supposed to go to Olden, quite a way into the fjord, but with the waves and forecast storms, it was wiser to head for somewhere more on the open sea. Weather permitting, we’ll head south for Olden tomorrow.

As we approached Alesund we noticed at least three whales. Crazily, I didn’t have my binoculars with me and if I’d headed down to my cabin I’d have missed things (especially as the elevators are off during the current weather) I took some snaps and here’s an extra.

WiFi is iffy and expensive on the ship and their mobile stuff is even more outrageous. I’m sorry I’m not commenting much but I’ll catch up.

I’ve taken shelter from the rain in an Alesund coffee shop ( I needed a sit down and all the benches are soaked). The girl who served me is lovely, as are the other people I’ve met on my stroll around - or should that be splash......

The Magellan is very different from the ships I’ve been on before. Its so much bigger. Im not into Bingo or big shows and the lecture yesterday was awful. But the crew are super, my cabin steward and the waiters are fabulous and everyone is so friendly and fun. I’m so enjoying it.

I doubt if we’ll see the Northern Lights. Goodness knows whether our route will change again?! But I really don’t mind. It’s a great adventure and I love Norway.

And with a marvellous new baby in the family (my sister’s first grandchild, and she blipped him yesterday - she’s Dandales) all’s right with the world.


PS: Alesund has heated benches ! A brilliant idea. I sat and admired the view - and dried out :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.