All-red Map

By Edelweiss_Cath

I meet Steven Pinker !!!

I ATTENDED A LECTURE BY STEVEN PINKER!!!
One of the most well-known cognitive psychologists and linguists in the 21st century!!!!!!! I read his books!!! All the touching analyses in “The Sense of Style” and the hilarious explanations of complex theories in “The Language Instinct” - come from Professor Pinker. One of my favourite Academic English classes (pls neglect the fact that every single period was enjoyable) was about his “The Sense of Style” in which he construed “We are going to die, and that makes us the lucky ones...In the teeth of these stupefying odds it is you and I, in our ordinariness, that are here.” (Unweaving the Rainbow) and “But if my sister does exist, then what is she, and what makes that thing that she now is identical with the beautiful girl laughing at her little sister on that forgotten day?” (Betraying Spinoza); this summer before I started my course in UCL it was his “The Language Instinct” that gave me a rough idea about how my three years would be spent.
Moreover I'm so honoured to go to his speech!!! And I really want to thank our fabulous LingSoc for giving us this chance - it's New College of Humanities (basically another uni, yes) who invited Pinker...not UCL, but LingSoc managed to get 6 tickets for us after negotiation!!! And Iona and I are simply soooooooo lucky to be chosen... Thank God. I will never forget this lecture although it's all about neuroscience and about the brain (hence very new knowledge to me haha).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.