Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Reserved for the cat...

Becky came to collect Archie this morning, and she and Daniel brought him back a couple of hours later after playing with his frisbee in the park.

We both went to the gym, where one of the only two bikes that I use is 'out of order'. What a nuisance - I hope they fix it soon. I don’t want to have to spend any time on the cross trainer!

JR went into Morningside to pick up some dry cleaning, and when Archie came home, I gave him a quick wash and got the bus to meet her. I say blithely 'gave him a quick wash' but actually it wasn’t. I carried a picnic table in and put it in the shower so that I didn’t need to bend down, but it was a bit wobbly - he HATES that - but at least I could reach him. Note to self: wear wellies, or bare feet... from the knees down, I was soaked.

We met at the Canny Man's, a quirky pub in Morningside. But it was rather busy. In fact, while we were sitting debating whether to stay or not, a large lady came by and stood on Archie's wee tail! What a yelp he let out. I don’t believe the old bag even turned round to apologise.

So that settled it, we left. But not before we took a photo of Archie on the 'Reserved for the Cat' seat, which wobbled a bit too. Poor Archie.

We wandered back to Bruntsfield, which takes a long time, as Archie has to sniff every single lamppost and rubbish bin. Mind you, this pace suits me.

We decided to go to our favourite - Montpelier's. Good choice. We had a couple of Paolozzi beers and a sharing platter which had lots of goodies on it. Yum yum. Archie was given water and a treat. He likes it there.

And when we came back over the Links, we found a ball for Archie - yay! He and I have had a snooze after our tiring day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.