awelsh

By awelsh

HusH Tour

Today was probably my busiest day. It started off with breakfast at my first American diner. It was a great place to people watch whilst waiting for the start of my birthplace of Hip Hop tour. Grandmaster Caz was a great host taking us round Harlem and the Bronx showing us sites that were important in hip hop history and culture. It was a definite highlight of my holiday. In the evening I went to see Billy Joel and it felt all the more special with it being his home town. Memories came flooding back of listening to his The Stranger album with my friend Carol. I was just delighted when he played Moving Out as it was the first song I had heard of his (I'd taken the LP randomly out of the library)  and is one of my favourites. It was amazing to go into Madison Square Garden as well being a name that I'd grown up with. It was not as large as I'd imagined which was fine with me and I had a great view of the stage.                           As On the Town is my favourite film ever the total icing on the cake was on the way back to the hotel walking up Broadway I saw 3 sailors in their white uniforms!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.