Poppi

Another view from the Casentino as I came up over the pass this morning. That's Poppi and Bibbiena behind. Smoke from the olive tree waste fires adding a touch of mystery to the scene.

I tangled with some suckering acacia saplings today. I came out of it with my forearm bleeding and long needle like spines stuck in my flesh. Was not that what they used for Christ's crown of thorns at Calavary?  A cruel tree that springs up if ground is left vacant. But makes honey because it flowers for a long time with great hanging garlands of creamy blooms. Luckily there is not much of it on the land.

A trip to the Comune (local council) to sign up for the rubbish tax with GL as chaperone. And now we have the electric back on.

I cleared another terrace today with my valiant Hyundai 173cc mower. It started to sound a bit sick at the end of play so I hope I have not over-strained it. It has been doing some fairly heroic stuff, what with the brambles, teasles, long, clumpy grass, suckering field maple, huge high nettles and tons and tons of Old Man's Beard.

Taking a break I watched ants march out on the balcony railing. Little soldiers and the big flying ants. It almost looked like the soldiers were forcing the flyers to fly. I wonder what they feel like as they take off and rise valiantly, so alone, into the hugeness of the sky.

JL has put in us touch with an agri contractor who can come around and fell trees and clear the matted brambles in the wildest land. He might be able to plough and rotavate me a patch of 'orto' - (garden/allotment) so I can get some autumn onions and garlic in, provided I can work out a way to keep the bloody boar off our land.

Nice chats with daughter P today who has been asked to appear before a Parliamentary Select Committee for a second time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.