Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Changing Times

Our Acer has just about reached peak raspberry explosion, and soon, in the blink of an eye, it will turn deeper red still and carpet the grass in maple shaped leaves.

A morning spent with my sister talking and gossiping family ancient DNA history and then an evening with Tess seeing the worst film ever....Geostorm. In my official capacity as a multiple anxiety disorder human, like many others of my kind, I conversely love the pants off disaster movies. I'm talking Towering Inferno, Poseidon Adventure, Day after Tomorrow, the cheesier the better. Dave has limits to the cheesiness. I am immune. I'm sure it's the sight of all those ultimate worse fears being visualised on screen that make you perversely go woohoo as the anxiety dissolve for an hour or so. Temporary sanity.

I digress. Anyway, so my sister also loves a disaster movie, as does my dad. In fact my sister and I watched the trailer together in the morning steadily ooing and aahhhing in anticipation. But Geostorm is soooooo bad. Spoiler alert.....It's not even so bad that it's good, it's just bad. Butler is trying to channel 80s Mel Gibson while trying to reconfigure a giant Pillsbury doughboy machine in the sky. And it doesn't even do what it's says on the tin......There isn't even a fekkin' Geostorm.

But today was also a milestone mini victory day. It's taken 44 days but I've lost a stone. Silver lining of a kidney infection killing my appetite and then thinking, let's just keep going with this. Now to quietly focus on losing the next one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.