Toots in Solitude

By Toots

National Poetry Day

The Stars

I did try to take a photo of tonight's starry sky, but each shot was black with a kind of tiny white streak that looked like an out-of-focus worm.

This rainbow is not much better.

Here is my Star poem as a contribution to National Poetry Day.


The dark night sky
Is filled with stars
I have to lift my eyes to look upon them
Lift my eyes from earthliness
To wonder at them.

They do not speak
They are silent.

So far away in a vastness
Not to be reached.

Their light so pure
They are like ancient eyes
That have watched forever
The workings of the World.

(Well, it doesn't rhyme or even have a rhythm, just a skeleton jotting of notes to be worked on.
It was by chance at the last minute I noticed this poetry group thing and National Poetry Day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.