Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

50 Years Ago

"Love, Love Me Do" was released 50 years ago and this evening's national news gave it a mention. The Beatles early music was as good as all of their music. I loved it. They have certainly contributed significantly to the soundtrack of my life.

After the marathon of paper grading this past week, I returned the projects to my Thursday students today. Unofficially, I have no paper grading to do this weekend. I wish that meant that I had a carefree weekend ahead, but nope! This Saturday is the final session of attending the "Expository Reading and Writing Course" that is presented by the California State University system for teachers in the local unified school districts. See the P.S.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I have been attending an educational workshop regarding the EPA (Early Assessment Program) of the California State University system in Murrieta at the Riverside County Office of Education with three others from my campus and many others from the local unified school districts. It is a course in teaching Expository Reading and Writing. The purpose of the course is help students graduate from high school and qualify to immediately enroll in college writing. For years the statistics of how many students are not ready for college writing has been staggering. So this is designed to change those numbers. The community college where I teach is desiring to connect to the local high schools and synchronize our terminology/vocabulary so that our faculty will be communicating effectively with students who have, for the most part, come from the local high schools. The workshop is interesting and I'll be there again this Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.