Thistle Down

By Ethel

My Father

O come...my little duckling,
My father would say to me.
Come and put your arms around,
And climb upon my knee.

O come...my little chickadee,
I hear those little hisses.
Come tell me what you did today,
And smother me with kisses.

O come...my little lambkin,
Come sit upon my lap.
And I will sing a lullaby,
While you take your nap.

O come...my dancing lady,
Come whisper soft and low.
Your eyes are filled with stars tonight,
O who was your handsome beau?

O come...to me, my children,
"O Come"...are his heavenly plea's.
For I have gone and left you,
Alone...with your memories.

E.P. 1908 - 1989

Baby Coco (Ethel's Great, Great Granddaughter) turned 2 today and she is with her Grandfather holding a little figurine that her mother had on her birthday cake when she turned 2.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.