Vieux Monmartre

Today's the day ............................ to capture a scene

This is a photograph of a print of the Place du Tertre  in the Monmartre district of Paris - and for many years, it hung on a wall in my parents' house.  When they died and the house was sold, it came to us and it now hangs in our bedroom.  I have always liked it - the way it has been painted and the bright colours - but I have no idea who painted the original or indeed anything about it at all. 

Today, I was sorting out all the photographs that I took when we were recently in Paris.  The Place du Tertre  is one of the places that we usually go to because it's always full of artists painting portraits - which is interesting for Will.  The extra is one of a few photographs that I took there - and, as soon as I saw it, I knew I must have taken it from very near where the painter of the painting must have been standing.

Of course, things have changed a bit in the Place du Tertre  since the painting was done - and perhaps he/she used a bit of artistic licence to get things in exactly the position he/she wanted - but you can still recognise it.  The building on the left with the red canopy is still a restaurant called 'Au Cadet de Gascogne'  and the domes of the Sacre-Coeur  still dominate the skyline.

It's a lovely thought to think that I was there ......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.