A fond farewell, tinged with sadness

We all got up early today as I had to drive Tanya, Immy and Helena to the train station. Their trip is now taking them to Heathrow to fly to Scotland for the next week, visiting Tanya's mum at her home near Oban where Helena and I visited back in August.

We arrived at the station a little early and to my surprise a free car park space appeared in exactly the right place, so that we could amble across the forecourt to the nearest platform. The 9-05am to Paddington was running on time so we had five minutes to wait. All three blippers all seemed to have the same idea, to get out a camera and shoot the others. The other passengers on the platform seemed rather subdued, and weren't amused by our laughter and play together as we walked around looking for a blip of each other.

In the end my best picture is of Tanya and Immy, as the train is just pulling away, still laughing. We have had a great time together, but we are not going to allow them back unless they stay longer in future. Helena in particular has been so busy this week with both work and social arrangements that she will be thoroughly exhausted tonight, but it has all been in a good cause. I think both Immy and Tanya like our little town and its surroundings.

So farewell for another year, and perhaps we can entice Immy's sister, Christina to come down from London with Dawson again and we can enjoy some of their very entertaining family characteristics. Maybe Immy and Christina will be the next to start blipping. I fear their Dad, N, who is still in Bahrain, may not become one sadly, even though he has all the gear. Come on Dad! Lets see your world too.

Helena and I walked back into town together, before she set off to a cafe for an early coffee prior to her work. I went to buy new windscreen wipers as I was afraid my current ones would fail the MOT test which I then went to obtain. The good news was that the car passed the test with no problems, although I did decide to buy a new tyre before it wore completely out, so I am financially relieved. I even didn't need the new wipers and got a refund as I was told the ones I had bought were rubbish! Ah well, I try my best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.