Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Coccinellidae...

I thought I'd have a change from spiders (for the sake of my dear cousin), so here is a macro ladybird. I get loads around my office window - not sure why, but they seem quite happy.

Coccinelid means scarlet in Latin, and the insects (beetles) became known in Britain as 'Our Lady's' bird due to Mary (Our Lady) often being depicted in early paintings wearing a red cloak . The spots on the seven spot ladybird symbolised her 7 joys and 7 sorrows (which I won't go into at this point). You can look it up on Wikki though. It's where I get all my info.... :-)

We're off to the Newforest for the weekend - hope you all have a great weekend.

Hurt no living thing:
Ladybird, nor butterfly,
Nor moth with dusty wing.
~Christina Georgina Rossetti~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.