Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Job done

Annemique collected Archie at 10am, and we both went to our respective gyms.

Later, JR went off to the supermarket, and I decided to paint the bathroom windows. They'd had new glass in the bottom panes a few weeks ago, and the new putty had to be painted. But in front of them is our wood shed. If I’d been able to climb on to it and kneel, it would have been an easy job. But I can’t with these new knees.

I tried to shift the wood shed, but it wouldn’t budge. It was full of wood, of course. I decided not to paint the putty.

Then I decided I really should, while I was in the mood, sort of. What if I took out some of the nets of firewood? That would make it lighter. And so I removed the firewood. I had to remove all 20 of them before I could budge the shed.

The wee ladder was fine. Then I realised I’d have to paint the top windows too, because they were not done when I did the front windows. I also painted the bedroom windows. Phew!

JR arrived home in time to help me put all the firewood back, and then she swept up while I did a wee bit more painting inside. And I only got a wee bit of paint on my oldest jumper.

Archie arrived home with both of his pals, Annemique and Jenna, having had a lovely day. Both girls were heading off, reluctantly, for the evening shift in their respective supermarkets. (Selfie by Annemique).

Bake Off final tonight and I see Prue Leith has let slip the winner on Twitter, to mass opprobrium. Does it matter? I don’t really follow it closely anyway, and have to turn it off as soon as the one leaving is announced - I can’t stand all that weeping, wailing and hugging as if they're on a lifeboat and one person has to be chucked off to the sharks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.