Life on the Mothership!

By TheMothership

Wheelchair Clinic

Very tempted to lift these for the useful bits I could take off them.  Wheelchair clinic used to be very emotional for me as my son has very strong involuntary movements and for many years he just used to scream in pain.  Wheelchair services weren't always supportive and son didn't help as he would sit motionless for the fitting and then 'let go' when we were wheeling out of the door.  I've had seating reps say 'No-one can seat this child',  a wheelchair member of staff once said 'My life's a compromise, your life is a compromise, so Big Fish has to compromise' when producing a wheelchair that didn't go anywhere near his needs.  So for many years I went down the charity funding route working closely with the wonderful guy at medical physics and we more or less built our own.  Big Fish is so much more settled now after discovering the benefits of the dynamic head piece, most of his strength of movements goes out through his head and neck, that we are back at wheelchair services.  I was pleasantly surprised to get new wheelchair worker who really listened and worked with me!  So new seating system should be arriving early December!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.