Snow Down Under

By snowy

SYMPHONY IN BLUE:

Another hot day in paradise. Stuff tells me it’s going to be 25*C, but we are desperate for rain. My garden is full of bloom; azaleas, rhodos & now the irises are coming out - it is a lovely time of the year. I’ll put my hat on that has “skite” written on the hatband .....to tell you, when I lived in the LINDIS, I had a 3 year term as President of the N. Z. Iris Society. I had a garden that burst at the seams with irises ! Now I only have a few but they still remain my favourite flowers. The two on the left of this collage are a tall bearded (Harbour Blue) & dwarf bearded, the name escapes me but I do know it. The top right is Iris Tectorum which is an absolute gem for dry areas - I have lots of those, so I have lots of Tectorum ! It grows easily from seed, which I scatter each year. There is also a white variety but I much prefer the blue. Pretty sure Rainie blipped this Iris mid October ? On the bottom a Dutch Iris Wedgewood. Have lots of tall bearded ones of different colours, still to come out. Stay tuned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.